Author Archives: blow

Come to the Fundraising Meeting

On Wednesday, March 27, 2019, members of the AAUW Harford Branch will be meeting to discuss future fundraising events. All are welcome and encouraged to attend. The meeting will be held in the CASA office on Main Street in Bel Air, directly above Sunny Day Cafe at 11:30. You may bring a lunch or order from the cafe downstairs.

Resnik Luncheon April 13, 2019

High school junior, their guests, school administrators, and AAUW members of the Harford branch are looking forward to the annual luncheon honoring high school juniors excelling in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math STEM). AAUW Harford Branch has honored young women for decades now with a special luncheon with a special recognition ceremony.

Each student receives a certificate from the branch as well as commendations from many State and County officials, many of whom attend to honor the girls in person. Each year a motivating speaker describes her experiences of hard work and success. The last two years the speakers have been daughters of members–daughters who were both formerly honored at this program and who have achieved high success as a result of their education and work in STEM areas. Look for updates describing the girls and the speaker soon.

Upcoming Events

Some Exciting Events Coming Up

October 27 Book Group from 10 a.m. to noon at Laurie Feldman’s House. Book Bloodsworth by Tim Junkin. Contact

November 12 Resnick Planning Meet 7:00 p.m. at Anne Heidenreich’s house. Contact

November 19 Branch Meeting 7:00 p.m. Kate Campbell Stevenson speaker at Harford Community College Edgewood Hall Room 132. Contact

November 24 Bood Group from 10 a.m. to noon. Book Lilac Girls at Hazel Hopkins’ house. Contact

December 8 Holiday Party 3:00 to 5:00 at Hazel Hopkins’ house. Contact

December 29 Book group from 10 a.m. to noon at Linda Correa’s house. Book Manhattan Beach. Contact

AAUW Harford County Branch Hosts 2018 Resnik Luncheon

The Harford County Branch of the American Association of University Women hosted its 32nd annual Judith Resnik luncheon on April 28 at the Theater dining room of Harford Community College.  The luncheon honored twelve outstanding high school junior women who have excelled in science, technology, engineering, or math, STEM.  Each young woman received lunch, certificates of achievement and congratulations from from the American Association of University Women Harford County Branch, The Maryland General Assembly, The Office of the Executive of Harford County, Harford County Council, Harford County Public Schools, and The Senate of Maryland. The Harford County Branch of the AAUW also presented each girl with the award-winning book, Lab Girl by Hope Jaren, an autobiographical medication that describes one woman’s journey to scientific achievement and contribution to knowledge.  Guests of the young women– including parents, family members, teacher, and school administrators, Harford Community College administrators, and local and state political officials–all  applauded the talents and diligence of each student.

The program began with a welcome from the event chair responsible for creating the event, Anne Heidenreich.  She reminded the audience of the important contributions of Dr. Judith Resnik, the namesake of this celebration. Dr. Resnik  perished in the Challenger accident in 1986. Dr. Resnik was a member of the American Association of University Women and benefited from one of the the organization’s fellowships for outstanding scholars by receiving scholarship monies for graduate study at the University of Maryland.

Ms. Heidenreich introduced the AAUW Harford County Branch president, Dr. Carol Mueller, who welcomed the guests, congratulated the girls, and briefly described the mission and history of the American Association of University Women. She recounted the exciting beginning of the Harford Branch and the commitment it has shown to excellence in education for women through these annual luncheons.

The young women honored, pictured below include the following: Tarnisha Grimsley, Taylor Miller, Jessica Mills, Shelby Croskey, Kristina Holsapple, Hannah Yamagata, Gracie Lynn Chairs, Megan Schall, Abigal Trovinger, Samantha Fielder, Ashley Goudy, and Christine Zhang. Each was indivually introduced and described. The AAUW members who introduced the girls, Sandy Guzewich and Diana Rudolph, highlighted the activities, achievements, goals, and educational plans for the future of each honoree.

The motivational speaker, Dr. Dymond, pictured in the back row at far left, is Group Supervisor for Biological Sciences in the Research and Exploratory Development Department for Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory in Laurel, Maryland. She spoke to the young women about ways to achieve their goals.  Of course she noted the value of diligence, persistence, and hard work.  But she also advised that they strive to tolerate ambiguity and what may seem a detour in the path as they pursue a dream career. She observed that her own path to this position that he now holds included a circuitous path and experiences that she has come to value even as she decided not to pursue them to fruition. She affirmed the importance of the process of learning and becoming and urged all of the young women to have patience with themselves and with all of the steps in their journey.

The annual AAUW Harford Resnik luncheon once again honored outstanding high school girls for their achievements in science and math. They and their families were guests of the branch at the lovely luncheon. Each girl’s activities and dreams were described in detail before she came up to pick up a packet of proclamations and certificates from the American Association of University Women Harford Branch,  the County Executive, Barry Glassman and many other governmental officials validating her successes.

The girls honored, who are pictured below, include  Jordan Althoff, Harford Technical High School; Allison Frick, Havre de Grace High School; Kacey LeBrun, Joppatown High School; Brooke Rickey, North Harford High School; Catherine Lewis, Patterson Mill High School; Natalie Majerik, John Carroll High School; Adelina Minter, Aberdeen High School; Emmy Smith, Science and Math Academy; Jenna Signorelli, Bel Air High School; Lydia Thompson, C Milton Wright High School; Naomi Karmel, Edgewood High School; Julianna Stevens, Fallston High School.

The speaker, Dr. Jennie Hart, pictured below second to right is second row, is daughter of AAUW member Eva Hart and her husband Bill.  Dr. Hart gave a vivid, interesting, and sometimes moving description of her progress to her career and the reason for her choice to be a pediatric oncologist. Every one felt the joy she described as she read a thank you presented as a painting with words from one of her young patients.