Upcoming Events

Some Exciting Events Coming Up

October 27 Book Group from 10 a.m. to noon at Laurie Feldman’s House. Book Bloodsworth by Tim Junkin. Contact mmdymond67@gmail.com

November 12 Resnick Planning Meet 7:00 p.m. at Anne Heidenreich’s house. Contact anneheid@comcast.net

November 19 Branch Meeting 7:00 p.m. Kate Campbell Stevenson speaker at Harford Community College Edgewood Hall Room 132. Contact trilobite929@comcast.net

November 24 Bood Group from 10 a.m. to noon. Book Lilac Girls at Hazel Hopkins’ house. Contact mmdymond67@gmail.com

December 8 Holiday Party 3:00 to 5:00 at Hazel Hopkins’ house. Contact tribolite929@comcast.net

December 29 Book group from 10 a.m. to noon at Linda Correa’s house. Book Manhattan Beach. Contact mmdymond67@gmail.com

AAUW Harford County Branch Hosts 2018 Resnik Luncheon

The Harford County Branch of the American Association of University Women hosted its 32nd annual Judith Resnik luncheon on April 28 at the Theater dining room of Harford Community College.  The luncheon honored twelve outstanding high school junior women who have excelled in science, technology, engineering, or math, STEM.  Each young woman received lunch, certificates of achievement and congratulations from from the American Association of University Women Harford County Branch, The Maryland General Assembly, The Office of the Executive of Harford County, Harford County Council, Harford County Public Schools, and The Senate of Maryland. The Harford County Branch of the AAUW also presented each girl with the award-winning book, Lab Girl by Hope Jaren, an autobiographical medication that describes one woman’s journey to scientific achievement and contribution to knowledge.  Guests of the young women– including parents, family members, teacher, and school administrators, Harford Community College administrators, and local and state political officials–all  applauded the talents and diligence of each student.

The program began with a welcome from the event chair responsible for creating the event, Anne Heidenreich.  She reminded the audience of the important contributions of Dr. Judith Resnik, the namesake of this celebration. Dr. Resnik  perished in the Challenger accident in 1986. Dr. Resnik was a member of the American Association of University Women and benefited from one of the the organization’s fellowships for outstanding scholars by receiving scholarship monies for graduate study at the University of Maryland.

Ms. Heidenreich introduced the AAUW Harford County Branch president, Dr. Carol Mueller, who welcomed the guests, congratulated the girls, and briefly described the mission and history of the American Association of University Women. She recounted the exciting beginning of the Harford Branch and the commitment it has shown to excellence in education for women through these annual luncheons.

The young women honored, pictured below include the following: Tarnisha Grimsley, Taylor Miller, Jessica Mills, Shelby Croskey, Kristina Holsapple, Hannah Yamagata, Gracie Lynn Chairs, Megan Schall, Abigal Trovinger, Samantha Fielder, Ashley Goudy, and Christine Zhang. Each was indivually introduced and described. The AAUW members who introduced the girls, Sandy Guzewich and Diana Rudolph, highlighted the activities, achievements, goals, and educational plans for the future of each honoree.

The motivational speaker, Dr. Dymond, pictured in the back row at far left, is Group Supervisor for Biological Sciences in the Research and Exploratory Development Department for Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory in Laurel, Maryland. She spoke to the young women about ways to achieve their goals.  Of course she noted the value of diligence, persistence, and hard work.  But she also advised that they strive to tolerate ambiguity and what may seem a detour in the path as they pursue a dream career. She observed that her own path to this position that he now holds included a circuitous path and experiences that she has come to value even as she decided not to pursue them to fruition. She affirmed the importance of the process of learning and becoming and urged all of the young women to have patience with themselves and with all of the steps in their journey.

The annual AAUW Harford Resnik luncheon once again honored outstanding high school girls for their achievements in science and math. They and their families were guests of the branch at the lovely luncheon. Each girl’s activities and dreams were described in detail before she came up to pick up a packet of proclamations and certificates from the American Association of University Women Harford Branch,  the County Executive, Barry Glassman and many other governmental officials validating her successes.

The girls honored, who are pictured below, include  Jordan Althoff, Harford Technical High School; Allison Frick, Havre de Grace High School; Kacey LeBrun, Joppatown High School; Brooke Rickey, North Harford High School; Catherine Lewis, Patterson Mill High School; Natalie Majerik, John Carroll High School; Adelina Minter, Aberdeen High School; Emmy Smith, Science and Math Academy; Jenna Signorelli, Bel Air High School; Lydia Thompson, C Milton Wright High School; Naomi Karmel, Edgewood High School; Julianna Stevens, Fallston High School.

The speaker, Dr. Jennie Hart, pictured below second to right is second row, is daughter of AAUW member Eva Hart and her husband Bill.  Dr. Hart gave a vivid, interesting, and sometimes moving description of her progress to her career and the reason for her choice to be a pediatric oncologist. Every one felt the joy she described as she read a thank you presented as a painting with words from one of her young patients.

Food Fight Promises to be Better than Ever

Maryland, My Maryland Food Fight 2017

There is always so much excitement in the air at Food Fight! Watch four local chefs open their box of secret ingredients and prepare an appetizer and main course in just 60 minutes. To be held again at the lovely Vandiver Inn in Havre de Grace on Monday, May 15 at 6:30 PM, the very popular Judges’ tickets (limited to just 36) are on sale NOW! In keeping with the theme, folks are invited to dress in a Preakness type hat for the affair, if hats are your thing!

Scheduled to compete are: Chef Bryan Bossel of One Eleven Main, Chef Travis Szerensits of Uncle’s Hawaiian Grindz, Chef Jacob Nelson of Black Eyed Suzie’s and Chef Stephen Seth of Silks Restaurant at Bulle Rock.

We are pleased to announce that Amrein Foods will sponsor the pantry. Aimee O’Neill of O’Neill Enterprises is a Gold Sponsor and  Shaffer, McLauchlin & Stover, LLC have come on as an early Silver Sponsor.

Judges’ tickets are $50 and Spectators’ tickets (unlimited number available) are $10. The Vandiver will also have food and drinks available for purchase.

All money will be donated for scholarships for women. Go to aauw.foodfight@gmail.com to purchase tickets.